IRRC Institute Research Award: Post-Modern Portfolio Theory

2016 Competition Now Open

-AwardWe are pleased to kick off the fifth annual IRRCi Research Award competition seeking innovative research that examines the interaction between the real economy and investment theory.

Practitioners and academics are invited to submit research papers by October 7, 2016, for consideration by a blue-ribbon panel of judges with deep finance and investment experience.

Two research papers – one academic and one practitioner – each will receive the 2016 IRRCi Research Award along with a $10,000 award. The winning papers will also be presented at the December 7, 2016, forum at the Columbia University Millstein Center for Global Markets and Corporate Governance Forum in New York, NY.

The panel of judges includes:

  • Mark Anson, Chief Investment Officer, Commonfund
  • Robert Dannhauser, Head of Capital Markets Policy, CFA Institute
  • James Hawley, Professor & Director, Elfenworks Center for Fiduciary Capitalism, Saint Mary’s College of California
  • Robert Jackson, Jr., Professor of Law and Director, Program on Corporate Law and Policy at Columbia Law School
  • Erika Karp, Founder, CEO and Chair of the Board at Cornerstone Capital
  • Nell Minow, Governance Expert and Columnist, Huffington Post.

Biographies of the judges are available here.

This research competition has rapidly become a prominent award garnering significant attention amongst the investment community, academia and policymakers. It highlights innovative research focused on the nexus between real world economy activity and investment theory. Previous winning research has been covered by major media outlets including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and CNBC.

Award submissions are accepted online here. Submissions may be an original work created specifically for the IRRCi Research Award, or relevant unpublished papers, or papers that have been published after July 1, 2015. Winning papers will be published by the IRRCi on its website. IRRCi also will distribute the winning papers to some 6,000 individuals interested in the organization’s research.

More information regarding the award process, submission guidelines and calendar is available here, along with the award submission form and Frequently Asked Questions.

See the full body of IRRCi research.

1$10,000 is awarded for each winning paper. If there are multiple authors, the award will be divided evenly between each author. Each award recipient is fully responsible for all applicable taxes.